Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices #2) by Cassandra Clare

 

imageBook: Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices #2)

Author: Cassandra Clare

Published: December 6, 2011

Hardcover, 528 pages

B.O.S.SF Review: 4.5 stars!

largelargelargelarge

4.5 stars!!

*****

From Goodreads: In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has at last found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when rogue forces in the Clave plot to see her protector, Charlotte, replaced as head of the Institute. If Charlotte loses her position, Tessa will be out on the street—and easy prey for the mysterious Magister, who wants to use Tessa’s powers for his own dark ends.

With the help of the handsome, self-destructive Will and the fiercely devoted Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister’s war on the Shadowhunters is deeply personal. He blames them for a long-ago tragedy that shattered his life. To unravel the secrets of the past, the trio journeys from mist-shrouded Yorkshire to a manor house that holds untold horrors, from the slums of London to an enchanted ballroom where Tessa discovers that the truth of her parentage is more sinister than she had imagined. When they encounter a clockwork demon bearing a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister himself knows their every move—and that one of their own has betrayed them.

Tessa finds her heart drawn more and more to Jem, though her longing for Will, despite his dark moods, continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will—the wall he has built around himself is crumbling. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa the answers about who she is and what she was born to do?

As their dangerous search for the Magister and the truth leads the friends into peril, Tessa learns that when love and lies are mixed, they can corrupt even the purest heart.

*****

I had high expectations for Clockwork Prince after reading the favorable reviews on Goodreads, and because I am a big Cassandra Clare fan. While Clockwork Angel had so many parallel characters and plot lines to The Mortal Instruments, Clockwork Prince brought new developments which helped separate the two series. The book flowed well, as I think all of CC’s do, and I enjoyed how the plot progressed throughout the story. We found more clues from the Magister’s past, what Tessa is, and the character developments were engaging. Clockwork Prince gave the readers a chance to become more invested in the characters and the love triangle within the story… and luckily there were some good scenes since there was next to no action! (Not make out action…. fighting action!…. there were some good makeout scenes!) The ending did not include a big fight scene with Mortmain and his army, but I was captivated by how the love story would unfold. The last 10% tore out my heart…. but no spoilers on what transpired.

I’m still liking Tessa as the beautiful, grey eyed, book loving main character. She used her special Changing abilities a few times in CP to gain information on Mortmain, and we found out a few more clues as to what she is (want to know what the deal is with her necklace!). Her internal struggles with finding a place in the world and the men in her life are a just two of the many things that wears on Tessa.

Jem is the best! He doesn’t have a mean bone in his body, but I worry about his illness. His illness and impending death gives him insecurities about his shadowhunter abilities and his chance at love. I was glad to see when he and Tessa finally kissed and he confessed his feelings to her. I don’t think that Jem’s character developed too much in CP, other than his feelings for Tessa, but that is OK with me. He’s an open and honest guy, and his struggles with his illness are apparent to everyone.

Will, on the other hand, likes to keep everything bottled up. In my opinion, the developments with Will’s character were some of the best. We find out why Will is the snarky jerk that he is, and the readers get to see the softer side to Will. I do want Will to find love and happiness, too…

image

stitch

The love triangle is great in The Infernal Devices! With the new character developments with Will… it makes it a bit harder who to root for. I could see Tessa fitting in well with both Jem and Will, and I honestly would feel bad for either of them. (I am still Team Jem!) He is kind and handsome, and even though the nice guy do always seem to finish last (in YA books), I’d love to see CC choose a different path.  And…. I loved their makeout scenes!

DS-dan-and-serena-25958546-400-502

Will’s love for Tessa is also genuine and cute – I loved when he told Tessa why he fell in love with her. I have my predictions… and I think she will end up with Will, but still pulling for Jem!

My two favorite parts of the story came from the side characters. FINALLY Henry and Charlotte made a connection as a married couple. As a reader, I was annoyed with Henry’s aloof attitude towards his wife due to his inventions. When they talked about how they married for love and showed affection for each other, I couldn’t help but smile. My second favorite part had to do with Sophie. She is a loyal and sweet woman, but she is insecure because of her job as a servant and scar on her face. I was glad to see that Gideon Lightwood was a worthy suitor, and I predict that she will convert to being a shadowhunter in the end. I’m rooting for her HEA!

I also thought Jessamine’s twist was a nice change. I think if she would have changed for the better and suddenly wanted to become a badass Shadowhunter, it would have seemed cliche. Her intentions remained constant from start to finish, and I’m glad for that. And lastly, the more Magnus, the better! He isn’t nearly as flashy in TID, but he has some good scenes… and it gives us more insight into his eternal life.

Mortmain was not even in this book, and funny enough, I did not miss him at all! I think this shows that 1) the plot was engaging enough that I hardly noticed and 2) he isn’t a very good villain…. I did like the scenes with Nate (and his wife…) and I thought Benedict Lightwood made a suitable villain in CP.

Loved the book! Can’t wait for Clockwork Princess!

One thought on “Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices #2) by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

