Iced (Fever #6, Dani O’Malley #1) by Karen Marie Moning

ImageBook: Iced (Fever #6, Dani O’Malley #1)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Published: October 30, 2012 by Delacorte Press
Hardcover, 512 pages
Read: November 2012

B.O.S.SF Review: 5 MINDBLOWING stars

largelargelargelargelarge

*****
From Goodreads: The year is 1 AWC—After the Wall Crash. The Fae are free and hunting us. It’s a war zone out there, and no two days are alike. I’m Dani O’Malley, the chaos-filled streets of Dublin are my home, and there’s no place I’d rather be. Dani “Mega” O’Malley plays by her own set of rules—and in a world overrun by Dark Fae, her biggest rule is: Do what it takes to survive. Possessing rare talents and the all-powerful Sword of Light, Dani is more than equipped for the task. In fact, she’s one of the rare humans who can defend themselves against the Unseelie. But now, amid the pandemonium, her greatest gifts have turned into serious liabilities.Dani’s ex–best friend, MacKayla Lane, wants her dead, the terrifying Unseelie princes have put a price on her head, and Inspector Jayne, the head of the police force, is after her sword and will stop at nothing to get it. What’s more, people are being mysteriously frozen to death all over the city, encased on the spot in sub-zero, icy tableaux. When Dublin’s most seductive nightclub gets blanketed in hoarfrost, Dani finds herself at the mercy of Ryodan, the club’s ruthless, immortal owner. He needs her quick wit and exceptional skill to figure out what’s freezing Fae and humans dead in their tracks—and Ryodan will do anything to ensure her compliance.Dodging bullets, fangs, and fists, Dani must strike treacherous bargains and make desperate alliances to save her beloved Dublin—before everything and everyone in it gets iced.

*****
I wish I could give this book 10 stars, because it was my favorite 2012 release!  I read Iced the week that it came out, but I recently listened to the audiobook, and WOW – it took my love of the Mega (and Ryodan) to a new level 🙂  It’s difficult to write a review for a book you love so much, but I’ll give it a shot. 
Dani O’Malley was not my fecking favorite in the Fever series, and I wasn’t excited to have a 14 year old protagonist in books 6-8.  Too many Dudes, fecks, and Megas being thrown around, and I was afraid it wouldn’t have the same sexual tension that the books 1-5 had.  (I should’ve known that if anyone could make it work, KMM could…).  All of my worries were obliterated, and instead Iced exceeded my high expectations that the previous 5 books had set.  KMM is brilliant, and Iced was the perfect first installment in the Dani O’Malley trilogy.  I am in love with every character andevery side plot going on. 
Dani is HILARIOUS –she had me laughing out loud at the situations that she got herself into. 
dani 1 dani 2
The picture that KMM has painted of Dani is so clear in my mind, that when I was reading another book that mentions a whip… I was trying to remember what movie I had seen when a character (that cracks me up) was obsessing over a whip.  It took me a minute to realize that it was Dani!  I honestly thought I’d seen it on the big screen for a moment.  To me, this shows how invested I am with Dani and the whole Fever world that KMM has created for us.  The readers get to find out more about Dani and her childhood.  She used to be caged as a child, which explains why Dani is so adverse to be controlled by anyone.  Dani used to watch old TV shows which is where she learned about love and relationships, since she didn’t have that growing up.  She also has an admirable knowledge of the coolest Batman phrases! (“’Holy strawberries, Batman, we’re in a jam! Or, Holy Kleenex, Batman, it was right under our nose and we blew it!”)  Although she is a spunky 14 year old who wants to watch movies and eat candy bars, she knows that she has a duty to protect the people of Dublin. She’s a scene stealer, but Ryodan and Christian can stand up to it and bring humor, sexiness, and put Dani in her place.
And Ryodan is fantastic as the male lead.  Her interactions with Ryodan start off perfect, and it begins with his first line… “that’s my dick…” I almost choked when from laughing and surprise when I was listening to the audiobook.  I will be completely honest – I love and adore him.  He’s hot, powerful, but he has an obvious soft spot for Dani.  He says he’s been watching her for a long time, and he convinced the rest of the Nine to let her live.  They were intimidated by the fast framing and her supernatural abilities.  Their banter makes me laugh every time, and she is the only one who is allowed to give Ryo crap.  She is the Robin to his Batman.  
batman and robin
He’s been watching her grow up and sees how strong and capable she is, but sees her vulnerabilities, too.  One of my favorite Ryo lines “You’ll never be just anything. A tsunami can never be ‘just’ a wave.  I like that about you. Waves are banal. Tsunamis reshape the Earth. Under the right circumstances, even entire civilizations.  You’re going to be one hell of a woman one day, Dani.” I have to say, that I love when Ryodan gets mad and overly protective of Dani and his voice is the eerie quiet/calm.   It’s like he’s trying to reign in his temper with her, and I love him for that.  In a Facebook chat with KMM, her parting words were that Ryodan will “eclipse Barrons. Blot him right out of your soul’s sky. That’s the challenge I’ve set for myself as a writer. (God, I hate it when I do this to myself.) It won’t happen in the first book, or the second. But it will happen. And the gauntlet is flung…:)”  PS that makes me so excited!
Although the Dani/Ryodan relationship is my favorite to read and dissect, I also adore Christian/Dani scenes, too.  Christian cracks me up, in a lovable, creepy kind of way.  It was fun to get inside his head to hear the internal struggles of the Highlander he once was and the Unseelie Prince that he is becoming. I’m interested to hear what’s next for him (assuming that Dani can save him from his current situation). 
Lor and Dancer get shout outs for being amazing as well.  I have a perfect picture of Dancer in my mind – the hot nerd that relies on scientific evidence and his brains to get him ahead (he clearly made an impression when he saved Dani’s life when Ryodan and Christian couldn’t). 
Image
I predict that the dynamic between Dancer and Dani will get more awkward as she grows up and the other suitors become more aggressive.  I love any scenes with The Nine, and Lor is a sarcastic a-hole who seems to have a soft spot forThe Mega.  KMM said to expect more from him in Book 7, so I look forward to that. 
Many people could not past the 14 year old with hot, older Ryo and Christian having feelings for her… and while I get where they’re coming from, I think KMM balanced it as well as she possibly could.  I would think these same people would have problems with Jacob imprinting on a baby in Twilight: Breaking Dawn, but who knows.  (That is much weirder…)
Image
Karen said in a Facebook Q&A that if she started Dani at 17, she would be beyond some of the first moments of sexual awakening. The Fever series is a paranormal urban fantasy world where Ryo, the rest of the 9, and the fae cannot die, so I can get on board with the eternal men wanting to wait for someone to become legal.  Plus, she’s The Mega, and dude, she’s a living superhero!
So obviously, I am obsessed with the characters… but the plot was the bomb.com, too :).   ANYWAY, Iced gets you right from the start when Ryodan elicits help from Dani to solve what is Icing his club and other parts of Dublin. Through bribery and threats, Dani agrees to work for Ryodan.  Together they investigate what is Icing Dublin.  Even though Dani saves the day, there are some open items left off for Burned, Fever #7.  I can hardly wait until 2014 – I want to hear what the Mega is up to next!  And Jo needs to step aside and stop getting highlights and putting glitter on her chest. And I want to see how Kat and her “soul mate” end up.  Annnnd I’m ready for Mac and Dani to become two peas in the mega-pod again, for Dani to become of age and for her to get it on.  What can I say??   I have a Fever series obsession. I will try to find the transcript from the Faceook chat with KMM.
3 thoughts on “Iced (Fever #6, Dani O’Malley #1) by Karen Marie Moning

  1. Pingback: The Elite (The Selection #2) by Kiera Cass | Book Obsessed Shan in San Fran

  2. Pingback: Dead Spots (Scarlett Bernard #1) by Melissa F. Olson | Book Obsessed Shan in San Fran

  3. Pingback: W…W…W… Wednesday & Waiting on Wednesday: Week 2 – 5/15/13 | Book Obsessed Shan in San Fran

Leave a Reply

