Legacy (Legacy #1) by Cayla Kulver

Legacy

Book: Legacy (Legacy #1)

Author: Cayla Kluver

Published: June 28, 2011 by HarlequinTeen

Paperback, 496 pages

B.O.S.SF Review: largelarge 1/2

*****

From Goodreads: I noticed his eyes. They were blue, sharp and intense. Despite the youthful glows of his suntanned face, his eyes were cold and unfriendly, suggesting he had great experience in the world and was now expecting the worst.

In her seventeenth year, Princess Alera of Hytanica faces one duty: to marry the man who will be king. But her father’s choice of suitor fills her with despair.

When the palace guard captures and intruder— a boy her age with steel-blue eyes, hailing from her kingdom’s greatest enemy— Alera is alarmed… and intrigued. But she could not have guessed that their clandestine meetings would unveil the dark legacy shadowing both their lands.

In this mystical world of court conspiracies and blood magic, loyalties will be tested. Courage won’t be enough. And as the battle begins for everything Alera holds dear, love may be the downfall of a kingdom.

*****

At times I thought I’d rate Legacy at 4 stars… and then I thought, no, it’s a 3 star for me.  After thinking about it for several days, I decided on 2.5 stars.  To sum my thoughts on it up…. great idea for a trilogy, but unlikable main character with WAY too much description.  Legacy has a lot of potential, and I hope that books 2 and 3 will be even better.

 

Things I loved:

  • Cayla Kulver was 14 years old when she wrote Legacy!  If I remember correctly, an 10-page school paper was a huge accomplishment when I was in Middle School.  CK is going to have a very bright future ahead of her!  The storyline of the 100-year War between the Hytanica and Cokyri was very interesting, so I can’t wait to see how it unfolds. 
  • Sisters!  I’m generally a sucker for BFF sisters, because I am blessed to have the best big sister in the world (IMO).  Princess Alera doesn’t have too many friends, so I was pleased to see that she and Miranna depended on each other.
  • London – No, not the city (although I’m sure I’d love that, too), but Alera’s bodyguard!  He was my favorite character, and I was really hoping that he was about 5 years younger and would’ve been Alera’s love interest!  He is private, mysterious, passionate, loyal, handsome…. yeah, I loved him 🙂
  • Steldor – Were we supposed to dislike him?  He made me laugh…. I mean, he was the overly confident, arrogant, handsome suitor.  While he had the creepy, overly forward jerk thing going on, he also showed that he was in love with Alera.  With the guidance of his father and Alera, I think he could grow into a better man, but I could also see him getting wrapped up in power.  You know who he reminded me of?  A more likable Gaston from Disney’s Beauty and the Beast.  gaston

Things I didn’t like:

  • Ahh, I hate to say this, but I could not get on board with the main character, Princess Alera!  She was spoiled and selfish throughout the book, and I don’t think she grew into a heroine at the end.  I hated what she did to London, and I don’t think she learned her lesson.  I definitely think that there is still hope for Alera… we have two more books to get to know her better.  I hope that she treats her position as Queen seriously, and that she isn’t as much of a whiner and becomes a DOer!  
  • Legacy is about 150 pages too long.  It’s wayyyy too descriptive about everything.  Like in every scene we hear about each branch on a tree  that Alera sees, and my GOSH all of Alera’s dresses (they were all regal and tight in the bodice and flowed at the waist with flowy sleeves.) This book should have been cut down and edited a little bit.  Hearing Alera’s inner observations about the appearance of things didn’t make me like her anymore.

Things I’m on the fence about:

  • I want to hear more about Narian.  Based on what we saw of him in Legacy, I don’t really like him.  I don’t get why Alera liked him, either.  I thought that Alera and Narian had a little too much of insta-love going on…. I mean we barely got to know him.  I’m intrigued with the Cokyri prophecy, so I liked how KC gave us an introduction as to what Narian is capable of.

To summarize, CK, you have a great idea, and I can’t wait to read on with the Legacy trilogy!

2 thoughts on “Legacy (Legacy #1) by Cayla Kulver

  1. Pingback: Allegiance (Legacy #2) by Cayla Kluver | Book Obsessed Shan in San Fran

  2. Pingback: W…W…W… and Waiting for Wednesday: Week 3: May 22, 2013 | Book Obsessed Shan in San Fran

Leave a Reply

