The Elite (The Selection #2) by Kiera Cass

Book: The Elite (The Selection #2)The-Elite

Author: Kiera Cass

Published: April 23rd, 2013

Read: April 24th, 2013

Hardcover, 323 pages

B.O.S.SF Review:

largelargelargelarge 1/2

*****

From Goodreads: Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.

*****

Kiera Cass… why, oh why, oh WHY do we have to wait until 2014 for the conclusion of The Selection Trilogy?!?!

Bert

While there isn’t a major cliffhanger, there are still a lot of questions that we MUST answer!  Ahh, I am dying to know how this concludes…OK, enough of that… we’re here to discuss The Elite!  One of my most highly anticipated books to be released in 2013.  Yes, I did in fact stay up until 3am reading on April 23rd…. I was just so excited!

I’m going to break down The Elite:

    • ❤ the Story: The Elite started out with sunshine and rainbows… or more specifically, star gazing and snuggles. pleasure town
I was smiling along with America as she and Maxon were falling in love.  Obviously, happy days were not there to stay (because that would have been a boring book) and things went South very quickly.  America and Maxon both have a lot of things that they need to figure out before they can get their happily ever after, and they had their share of growing pains in their relationship.
  • Team Maxon till I die! :  Once again, Maxon has proven to be my favorite character.  Always thoughtful & kind, Maxon juggles all of the duties and obligations that are put on his plate.   Now that The Selection is down to The Elite, the pressure intensifies on finding the perfect Queen/winning over America.  But what happens if America backs out? Will he be left alone with a broken heart?  He doesn’t want it to come to that, but Plans B & C are in his mind.    On top of that, Prince Maxon has to learn how to run the kingdom.  His dickhead King father isn’t much help.  The rebels are determined to stop The Selection, and the constant worry that they will attack the palace wears on him.  Maxon, I know you will find your HEA and save the day in The One.
  • America, America, America…. we know you had to fall down in order to rise up to the woman that you’re destined to be.  And all that… but gosh, you were frustrating at times in The Elite.  frustrating gifAfter enjoying several days of bliss with Maxon, America had a few wake up calls.  She thought about the responsibilities behind being a Princess and wondered if she could handle that.  Then of course whole there was third part of the love triangle to consider.  The constant back and forth between Maxon and Aspen was annoying.  While in other love triangles, the indecisiveness between the two men is because they touch heroine’s heart in a particular way,  but America was swayed when she was upset with one of them.  Over and over.  It seemed impulsive and immature…. but I am very confident that America has learned from her mistakes in The Elite, and she will fight for Maxon and the people of Ilea in The One!
  • Aspen who?  Ugh, Aspen, you need to just go home now!  I would be very surprised if America ended up with Aspen.  He isn’t in love with the woman that she’s becoming, and for that reason ALONE, he needs to hit the road.  I am already afraid of when Aspen’s relationship to America gets out.  Shit will hit the fan, and it’ll be awkward!  If my little fanfiction world, I would have Aspen end up with America’s lonely maid, Lucy.  They both need some lovin’.
  • The Elite (aka Kriss and Celeste):  Those b*tches have got to GO!  What’s the deal with Kriss?  She reminds me of the oh-so-hatable, Jo, from Iced.  Kriss is a placeholder. Although there’s nothing wrong with her, she is just wrong for Maxon.  I predict that her claws will be coming out in The One.  I kind of love Celeste, simply because she is that hot bitch that we love to hate.  As of now, there is no complexity to her character, but I’m OK with that.  I’m looking forward to Celeste’s humiliating fall from grace.  It’s going to happen.. I can feel it.  (Insert evil laugh here).evil laugh sookie
  • The King:  Whoa, holy evil asswipe.  How much does he suck??  We got a sneak peak of what a jerk he was in The Prince, but UGH, WOW, I hate him.  He reminds me a bit of President Snow in The Hunger Games.  He likes the way things are, and he will take appropriate measures to keep things that way.  Looking forward to the King vs. America face-off.
  • The Rebels:  They confuse me.  I know that there are the Southern and Northern Rebels (both with different agendas), but the ones that storm the castle in a murderous frenzy seem different from the ones we met in the woods.  Hmmmm…….

Loved the book… the countdown for The One will be long and painful, but we have the CW TV show to look forward to in the Fall.

We can lean on each other while we harbor our post Elite depressions.  post-10224-That-moment-when-you-finish-a-OzHe

13 thoughts on “The Elite (The Selection #2) by Kiera Cass

    • Haha, thanks! Bert might be my all time fav gif. And yes, let’s start planning our KB trip! I guess some plane tickets will need to be purchased… I seriously hate the waiting… and it’s been two days since I finished. It’ll be a long year. *sigh*

  1. Could not agree with you more re: team Maxon and finding the rebels super confusing. I don’t know how I’m going to wait another year until the next book. I kind of wish I’d waited to start the series until all the books are out.

    • I know!!! It’s going to be a long year, and Cass announced on Twitter that she is shooting for April 2014 for The One! I plan on rereading/listening to books on audiobook to get fully prepared. I go back and forth with reading books as soon as they come out… or waiting to read when the last installment is set to come out. I try to balance it. Although waiting is AGONY, I so enjoy looking forward to release dates of books – it’s frustrating, but in a very exciting kind of way 🙂 Let’s hope the TV Show lives up to our expectations!!

      • I have such high hopes for the CW show … it sounds like just the kind of show I would have watched in high school (when the CW was the WB) and seems like it should be a great “guilty pleasure” show.

  2. Pingback: Mailbox Roundup Week 2: 4/28/13 | Book Obsessed Shan in San Fran

  3. Pingback: The Elite (The Selection #2) by Kiera Cass | Book Girl From South Carolina

  4. I loved “The Selection” So much I am honeslty afraid to start this one, I have seen so many up and down reviews of the story. I just finished the “Delirium” Series and the second two books just had nothing on the first book — and i don’t want to take away from the love I had for this one – but I know i’m going to give in and read it. I just finished “The Program” myself – and that is a high standard in my opinoion for any book to stand up to – but we will see.. I’ve just started “True” by McCarthy and then i’m on to “the Elite” – I hope it’s just as wonderful as the first book – I was glad to see your great feedback on this one!

    • Hi Kelley! Thanks for stopping by 🙂 I also loved ‘The Selection’, and I could not wait to get my hands on this one. I think it followed the same tone as ‘The Selection’… I enjoyed the ‘Delirium’ trilogy, but I completely agree that the final two books were SO different from the first installment. Different story telling, tone, characters/character building. (And do not get me started on that ending…) I hope that you like ‘The Elite’… I think you will, if you were in love with ‘The Selection!’ So you really enjoyed ‘The Program’? It’s on my TBR list. I’m going to read ‘True’ this month, so I hope we can talk about what we think!

      • Hey! Agreed again on Delirium.. And yes that ending killed me, I would have been better off making up my own. Talk about frustrated. I’m starting Elite today so we will see how it goes. I’m excited because Ioved the first book so much!

        Now about The Program.. Saying I loved this was an understatement. The characters were great and you felt for them, story line was amazing and didn’t bore me at any point. There was not one point where I felt like .. Come on move it along. So I highly recommend this and can’t wait to talk about it when you do. I’m hoping to have my full review up later today on the blog.

        In regards to True, I just finished this last night. It was a quick one day read. It isn’t my favorite story this year, but it was light and funny although it did deal with some rather heavy topics. But I would recommend it if you like the romance that brings out those teen angst feelings. I overall did enjoy it, again hoping to have this review up later today.

        Thanks again for replying back, I’m new to the blog scene and trying to figure things out.. By your name I would think you live in San Francisco right? If so that is my favorite city in the US. I used to spend 2 weeks out of every month there for almost a year.

        Have a great Sunday! Looking forward to chatting again!

      • Hey! Had to come back and add this suggestion.. My favorite book of 2013. I know you would love it and I would love to discuss, it’s called “Flat Out Love” by Jessica Parks. Check it out, the review is up on my blog now. I cannot gush enough about it.

        I also saw you have Screwed to read on your list this month.. I have been trying to read that. I’ve tried 3x but I always stop, I just can’t get into it for whatever reason. Anyway , looking forward to talking about our next reads!

  5. Hey Kelley! THANK you for the recommendation! “Flat Out Love” has a lot of 5 star reviews, and I have added it to my never ending TBR list on GRs 🙂 And, I am definitely going to give “The Program” a shot in June ( loved your review!) I’ve heard similar things about “True”, and I’m hoping for a quick read this evening. Let’s keep in touch! Keep up the great work on your blog!

Leave a Reply

