Tear (Seaside #1) & Pull (Seaside #2) by Rachel Van Dyken

Books:  Tear (Seaside #1) & Pull (Seaside #2)

Author: Rachel Van Dyken

Published: November 23, 2012 & February 27, 2013

ebooks: 214 & 363 pages

B.O.S.SF Review:  largelargelarge

I received both Tear and Pull in exchange for an honest review from Goodreads Read 4 Review.  Thank you to the Read4Review group and Rachel for giving me an opportunity to read and review!  I have been to Seaside, Oregon several times, so it was fun to see a series take place there.  I also appreciate the salt water taffy there 🙂

TearTear

This was a very quick read.  Alec and Demetri Daniels, two famous “rockstars” (or maybe glorified boy banders… no judgement… I love boy bands) move to Seaside, Oregon to get out of the lime light. These two, hot brothers both fall for the same girl. Meet Nat, our Main Character in book 1. Nat is a lonely girl who can’t wait to escape life in Seaside. She’s an only child and her parents spend more time at work than with her.

Nat is resistant to the boy band charmers, but she eventually allows herself to befriend them. The hot duo both fall HARD for Nat, and she’s confused on who to pick. She sort of goes for the one who showed interest first, even though we can see that isn’t where her heart lies. Upon first glance, these two boys look like they have it all. Money, good looks, talent, and fame. Underneath their shiny exterior, both of them have several skeletons in their closets. I was more interested in finding out about Alec and Demetri than Nat, probably because she didn’t have too many complexities to her. But that’s OK – I am actually glad that Nat didn’t also share a damaged past. Sometimes, I think that New Adult books overdo it with the damaged past. Because people that don’t experience extreme loss and trauma can still appreciate true love 🙂 (Sidenote: I didn’t care too much for the storyline with Nat’s parents. I can understand throwing themselves into work, but when they go away for a whole weekend… I mean, let’s hope that doesn’t happen, especially since they seem to be nice people).

The whole two brothers fighting over this seemingly amazing girl reminds me of The Vampire Diaries. The two Salvatore brothers love the same girl, and it goes on throughout the whole show. I’m glad that Tear takes care of the love triangle, and then the Seaside series moves on from there.

Pullpull

I liked Pull even better than I liked Tear! I liked it better for a few reasons… one being that we already had a good feel of the main character, Demetri, so it was easier to jump right into the story. I was also concerned for Demetri by the end of Tear. He’d had a difficult life, and he didn’t know how to deal with it in a healthy way. In comes Alyssa – the short, spunky, beautiful girl that works across the way from where Demetri is working. Alyssa isn’t big into celebrity gossip, but she knows that he has a bad reputation around town. On top of that, Alyssa is dealing with a traumatic past of her own.

I thought that the love story between Demetri and Alyssa was sweet. I liked how there weren’t any love triangles, but that we were able to see how the two damaged characters learned to love themselves (& in turn allowed themselves to be loved by others). The two had a lot to overcome, but I also liked how RVD didn’t give us any surprises with Demetri. Where he was a mess in Tear, we could see how hard he was trying to overcome his addictions and problems. And it was good to see 🙂 The dual POV was a nice change from Tear, as well. We got a good sense of both Alyssa and Demetri, and I was excited to get into his head after how it ended in book 1.

Anyway, I’m very excited for Book 3!!  I liked Rachel Van Dyken and I would like to read more of her books.  I’ve been reading that The Bet is worth reading, too!  Sadly, I missed that Read4Review 😦

2 thoughts on “Tear (Seaside #1) & Pull (Seaside #2) by Rachel Van Dyken

  1. Pingback: Weekly Roundup #4: 5/19/13 | Book Obsessed Shan in San Fran

Leave a Reply

