Allegiance (Legacy #2) by Cayla Kluver

Book: Allegiance (Legacy #2)6056287

Author: Cayla Kluver

Published: February 28, 2012

Read: April 28, 2013

Paperback, 490 pages

B.O.S.SF Review: largelargelargelarge 1/2

*****

From Goodreads: Only I saw Narian for who he truly was: a young man with courage and an independent mind, and made to pay for what was outside his control. He couldn’t help his past any more than he could help the way those intense, deep-blue eyes pierced me and held me captive.

An eighteen-year-old queen in love with the enemy as their countries pass the point of no return…

Bound to a man she cannot love, Queen Alera of Hytanica must forget Narian, the young man who holds her heart. For Narian is destined to conquer Hytanica at the behest of his master, the powerful magic-user known as the Overlord. Alera doesn’t truly believe Narian will fight against Hytanica-until Cokyrian troops attack with Narian commanding the charge.

Faced with the greatest betrayal a heart can know, Alera must set aside personal feelings and lead her kingdom through its darkest time. And when all hope, will and courage seem lost, she must find strength and remember that even the blackest night must have a dawn….

*****

WOW, what a HUGE improvement over Legacy!  If I hadn’t received an ARC for Sacrifice (Legacy #3), I might have considered giving up on this series, and I am so glad that I didn’t.  Allegiance picks up shortly after Legacy left off.  As you can see in the Goodreads summary, Alera becomes Queen and marries Steldor at the beginning of the book.  The first 160 pages were a bit predictable.  Several arguments between the new royal couple with Alera acting as immature and stubborn as she did in Legacy.  I swear, after page 160, there is a plot change that sent me in a reading frenzy until I was done!  Allegiance was a major shift in the Legacy trilogy.  There is an all out war between the Cokyri, and Queen Alera opposes the Overloard and her love, Narian.

Things I really liked:

  • London rocks.  He is still my favorite character.  London is larger than life, and I loved getting to hear about his past.  Fingers crossed for London’s HEA….27-ryan-lochte
  • King Steldor is that token snarky, hot dude in the Legacy trilogy.  (Can this be a Young Adult novel without one of those?)   Kluver wrote Steldor’s part very well, because although he certainly messes up , has a lousy temper, and does selfish things, I still really care about him!  He has a huge heart and takes care of the people he loves.   Steldor was Alera’s rock when she didn’t have anyone else to run to, and it was interesting to see how he made the  adjustment to being King of Hytanica. He showed us that he is incredibly worth of love. Oh, I wished that Alera would give him something more to go on.  I was completely enthralled in the book, but when Alera would put him down… I literally had to tear my eyes away to regain some composure…

ughhh

  • Alera made some big changes in her character during Allegiance.  Sometimes she deserved this getting a swift kick in the butt…. victoria chairbut I had high hopes for her.  When people scolded her, they were voicing several of the thoughts that I had as well, so I knew that she would eventually stop acting like a whiny, boring teenager.  The coolest part about Alera’a change from boring to a confident Queen, was that she did it without help from the two men in her life!  Yes, she talked a lot about Steldor and Narian, and they helped motivate her, she was strong enough to do things on her own.
  • The villains really creeped me out!  The Overlord and Narian’s cryptic, magical powers remind me of the movie ‘Looper’ with Bruce Willis (fantastic movie, by the way).  The villain in ‘Looper’ is called the Rainmaker, and he has supernatural powers much stronger than anyone has seen… and he will destroy the world.  This is how I viewed the Overlord and Narian, and truthfully, I was very creeped out by their awful powers and evil plans.  27938931

There were several times that I was thinking, WOW, this is a 5 star book for me.  It had me very tense until I knew how it would all turn out, but a few small things kept it from that 5 star review.  The book was a little too long… I love getting to picture myself in this world, but I thought that a few scenes could have been edited a bit.  Another thing, that I mentioned above, I just hated how the love triangle wasn’t a little more developed.  I wish that Alera showed Steldor a little more compassion.  For those two reasons, I couldn’t give it a 5 star review, but I REALLY did enjoy this book.  I hope that Sacrifice is as exciting as Allegiance.  Stay tuned! XO

One thought on “Allegiance (Legacy #2) by Cayla Kluver

  1. Pingback: W…W…W… and Waiting for Wednesday: Week 3: May 22, 2013 | Book Obsessed Shan in San Fran

Leave a Reply

