Naked (The Blackstone Affair #1) by Raine Miller

Book: Naked (The Blackstone Affair #1)Miller Naked

Author: Raine Miller

Published: August 25, 2012

ebook, 208 pages

B.O.S.SF Review: largelargelarge

*****

From Goodreads: Brynne Bennett is living the good life. An American art student at the University of London and part-time photographic model, she’s putting her life back on track with school and lots of hard work. When ultra successful London businessman, Ethan Blackstone, buys her nude portrait, he isn’t taking ‘no’ for an answer. He wants Brynne in his bed and makes plans to keep her there no matter what. His dominant nature captivates and ensnares despite the demons she carries inside her. But there are secrets in this relationship. Huge ones. Can Ethan free Brynne from the past that has marked her? Will Brynne let him or will the specters tormenting her resurface to destroy them both…

*****

I received this book in exchange for an honest review via Edelweiss (Thank you!!)

Let me start this off with a confession.  I’m going to be honest… I didn’t really like 50 Shades of Grey, but this review is for Naked (The Blackstone Affair #1) and NOT 50 Shades, so I won’t dwell on all of the things I disliked about the massively popular trilogy.  The reason I bring that up is because I liked Naked a lot better than 50 Shades of Grey, and Naked is a fanfiction trilogy with the same basic story as 50 Shades. If you liked 50 Shades, I would definitely recommend Naked!  I can see what the hype is about with The Blackstone Affair novels. I’m so glad that I got to read them!  Let’s get to the likes and dislikes…

  • Brynne > Anastasia:  I thought Anastasia Steele was boring, and I like Brynne.  She’s passionate about her career, and even though she has a bit of the damsel in distress thing going on, I didn’t find her to be annoying.
  • Ethan > Christian: Hot, sexy, stalkerish, dominant man.  Yes, to all of those for both of these men!  Still, I liked Ethan better than Christian!  His job seems more legitimate, he seemed like less of a creep, and his past seems more plausible.  Ethan hasn’t ever been interested enough in a woman to pursue a relationship, until Brynne, and the two of them make a good couple.
  • Straight to the sexytimes point: I LOVED how Naked felt more like a slightly long novella than a 400 page novel.  I mean, we already know that the two main characters are incredibly attracted to each other and are going to get it on, so why beat around the bush? I don’t remember unnecessary descriptions, and none of the added characters that don’t add anything to the core story. A big BRAVO to the editor for this story.
  • The Plot:  Predictable?  Of course!  Did I care?  Nope.  I knew what I was getting myself into.  Naked goes between the New Adult and Erotica genre, and I really liked that.  Both Brynne and Ethan have demons from their past, and they are far from perfect, and their pasts do make the story a bit more interesting.  Especially since her past is the storyline that carries through the trilogy… I guess it seems more believable than 50 Shades?  As far as the erotica part, I think that Miller wrote that well, too!
  •  Eyebrow_raise_sexy_gif_tb

What I didn’t like:

  • I had a few issues the whole nude model thing.  Why couldn’t Brynne be a beautiful fashion model… heck, even a lingerie model?!  The nude model thing bothers me MOSTLY because it’s a contradiction of what Brynne experienced in her past.  Won’t go into spoilers, but let’s face it, New Adult books flock to the several of the same culprits of the damaged girl formula.  Another thing…. Brynne’s father sends Ethan a photograph of his daughter.  Ummm….  correct me if I’m wrong, but I think that her father sends Ethan her tasteful nude photograph.
  • The whole reminding Brynne to eat thing…. 100710_girl_eating_anorexia_iStock_000013902474Smalllet me roll my eyes once again at this ridiculous sign of dominance.  Yes, Edward, Christian, and, now, Ethan all seem to have to force feed the loves of lives.  Sure, I’ve experienced stressful times or heart ache that make forget to eat, but c’mon.  MAJOR eye rolling when I saw that Ethan was going to have to remind Brynne to eat.  tumblr_me652mT1py1ry1cmf

OVERALL, YES, I say go ahead and read Naked!   If this genre is your thing, then you’ll like it.  Be warned that it does have the same elements of the dominant/stalker man…. and for those reasons, it won’t be getting higher than a 3 star review.

2 thoughts on “Naked (The Blackstone Affair #1) by Raine Miller

  1. Pingback: All In (The Blackstone Affair, #2) by Raine Miller | Book Obsessed Shan in San Fran

  2. Pingback: {All In-The Blackstone Affair, P.2} by Raine Miller {46¢} | Ménage à Book Blog

Leave a Reply

