W…W…W… Wednesday & Waiting on Wednesday: Week 2 – 5/15/13

www_wednesdays4Hosted by Should Be Reading.

To participate in this feature, you just have answer these three simple questions:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

13 - 1

1.  Unhinged (Underworld #1) by Tempest C. Avery

Unhinged is a Young Adult/Paranormal book that is based on Greek Mythology… specifically Hades & Perephone.  Hades (aka Hadrian) is one hot piece of ass (or POA, as I like to call it), and our main character, Spencer, makes a deal with the God of the Underworld with hopes of trying to bring her dead ex-boyfriend back to the world of the living.  I am LOVING this book!  I want to save more of my thoughts for my review, but I absolutely recommend that you check this out.  I received Unhinged from the author in exchange for an honest review through Goodreads.  The story sounded original, and the small number of reviews were all raving about it… so I was happy to tackle Unhinged.  I am so glad that I volunteered for the R4R, because it has been a thoroughly enjoyable read and I hope that you will check it out, too.  Unhinged is available to purchase on Smashwords, and I hope that bloggers can help spread the word about how awesome Unhinged is!

16001443

2. All In (The Blackstone Affair #2) by Raine Miller

I loved All In!  Ethan Blackstone is a sexy, Alpha male, and the whole book is told from Ethan’s point of view.  My full review will be posted this week.  I just received a copy of Eyes Wide Open, and I can’t wait to jump into this book soon.

17235997

3. The Trail of the Dead (Scarlet Bernard #2) by Melissa F. Olson

As you may have picked up on, I love me some paranormal/urban fantasies, and Dead Spots was an excellent first installment in the Scarlet Bernard series.  Author, Melissa F. Olson, very generously sent me an ARC for book 2!  I will also be featuring an exclusive interview with her… so get excited!

breathlessSpirit91WqQHHwOCL__SL1500_eyeswideopen2

Breathless (Elemental 2.5) by Brigid Kemmerer; Spirit (Elemental #3) by Brigid Kemmerer; The Bane (The Eden Trilogy #1) by Keary Taylor; Eyes Wide Open (The Blackstone Affair #3) by Raine Miller.  I have another 4 books that I *must* get through this month, so I hope to be a reading machine this weekend!  

 

New WoW

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine to highlight upcoming releases we’re anxiously awaiting. 

 

12444297

Burned (Fever #7, Dani O’Malley #2) by Karen Marie Moning

 

January 14, 2014!?!?!?  I will be counting down EVERY Wednesday until then!  The Fever series is my favorite urban fantasy/paranormal for so many reasons.  Amazing world building, storylines that build up over multiple stories, creepy/sexy/snarky/thought provoking, and The Nine….   KMM is brilliant, and she ties everything together beautifully and seamlessly.  I was a little nervous that Dani O’Malley’s stories wouldn’t live up to Mac’s, but I loved Iced and I can HARDLY WAIT FOR MORE DANI + RYODAN + CHRISTIAN.  January 14, 2014 – Hurry up please!!!!!!!

 

 

7 thoughts on “W…W…W… Wednesday & Waiting on Wednesday: Week 2 – 5/15/13

  1. Hey Great post! I can’t wait to check out Unhinged and see your review – it sounds great! The Raine Miller trilogoy I got the 3rd installment from Edelweiss but I haven’t read the first two.. Ive request on Netgalley but I don’t want to read the last until I’m finished with the first – you’ll have to let me know how it is, you liked the first one right?

    I saw you also got Faking It from Edelweiss – I did too and I have requested Losing it from Netgalley but no response yet – I don’t want to start that until i have them all either.

    Have you started the Program yet? I can’t wait to see what you think of that!

    Ive never heard of the Burned series so I am going to check that out!

    And I agree – I have a lot to get through this month – I hope I can read and reivew a TON this weekend, even my reviews are backed up at this point!

    Happy Thursday!! Good to chat again –

    • Hi Kelley!

      I recommend reading the first two Blackstone Affair books before you start Eyes Wide Open. I have enjoyed both Naked and All In, and I recommend that you check them out, too! Same goes with Losing It/Faking It. I’d read Losing It first.
      I’ll start The Program in a few weeks… workin through some ARCs.
      Burned will be the 7th book in the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning. If you like urban fantasy/paranormal books, the Fever series is my absolute favorite! Have a good evening!

      • Hey! I agree. I have applied for the first two in net gallery, but no answer yet. As,e for faking it. I have losing it amd requested faking it, but no reply yet.

        The Fever series duo des Brest. I might check it out!

        I can’t wait for you to read the program. I want to see your thoughts.

        Have you read pushing the limits? I should have this review this weekend. Talk to you soon!

      • I haven’t read Pushing the Limits yet, but definitely want to soon! I know that Dare You To comes out in a few weeks. I have a few to read before I start in with those, but I’m excited to check them out 🙂

      • Wow that’s a huge compliment on the Burned series, I will check it out for sure.

        Agreed on the others, I don’t like to read stuff before others if there is a series, it can certainly spoil it. I have gotten approved to read 2/3 in the Blackstone affair, but am waiting on hte last one, hopefully it will get approved.. I have losing it too but it’s a little ways down my list.
        have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

